Richard's College og Higher Studies

Home Courses Health & Social Care Level 4 NVQ in Health & Social Care (ADULTS)
Level 4 NVQ in Health & Social Care

Who is it for?

This NVQ is aimed at managers and senior practitioners working in the health and social care sector.

Qualification Aim:
This qualification is for those working in the health and social care sector whose roles involve the provision of care and support to adults in a range of contexts. This includes both within protected environments such as private care homes as well as in individuals own houses 

Entry requirement:
Candidates should have ideally achieved qualifications in a related area at Level 3 or above. However, this NVQ may be accessed by candidates without that qualification profile who have significant vocational experience – ideally in a supervisory or managerial role. Candidates have to be at least 18 years old

Progression Opportunities:
Candidates completing this NVQ may wish to go on to professional or post-graduate study in the same or related areas. Mapping to National Occupational Standards

National Occupational Standards:
This qualification reflects the qualification structure for the NCFE Level 4 NVQ in Health and Social Care published by Skills for Care and Development. It uses the associated National Occupational Standards (NOS) units that belong to that structure and that are published by Skills for Care and Development.

Assessment information: 

Agreed common evidence requirements for each unit are included with the unit specifications in this document and on the NCFE website. The sector Assessment Strategy, which includes the occupational expertise required of Assessors and Internal Verifiers, can be found at Appendix 1 of this document.

• This qualification is internally assessed and externally moderated

• Each candidate is required to create a portfolio of evidence which shows that they have met the standards associated with each unit.

Syllabus Overview:
The qualification has 2 routes: Health and Social Care (Children and Young People), and Health and Social Care (Adults).

There are 5 common mandatory units for this qualification:

• Unit 01 Use and develop methods and systems to communicate, record and report

• Unit 02 Contribute to the development and maintenance of healthy and safe practices in the working environment

• Unit 03 Take responsibility for the continuing professional development of self

Unit 04 Develop practice which promotes the involvement, well-being and protection of children and young people (children and young people)

• Unit 05 Develop practices which promote choice, well-being and protection of all   individuals (Adults).

To be awarded the NCFE Level 4 NVQ in Health and Social Care, candidates must successfully complete the 5 common mandatory units, (units 04-05), the mandatory unit from the chosen route, (either Unit 04 or Unit 05), and 4 optional units taken from the relevant option group or from the group of generic units.

For a full list of optional units please visit

Chosen Optional unit:

• Unit 10 Advocate with, and on behalf of, individuals, families, carers, groups and

communities (Imported unit – SOCIAL WORK 10) (HSC410)

• Unit 14 Assess individual needs and preferences (HSC414)

• Unit 29 Work with groups to promote individual growth, development and independence (Imported unit – SOCIAL WORK 8) (HSC429)

• Unit 52 Contribute to the development, maintenance and evaluation of systems to promote the rights, responsibilities, equality and diversity of individuals (Level 4 value focused unit) (HSC452)

Course detail:

Study level                            NVQ Level 4

Course Duration:                 12 months

Total credit Hours:                840

Entry Age:                             18+

Commencement:                 February, September

Home fees:                           3500


   . .